Fashion Friday: The Ring is the Thing

20140208_160414

In my opinion, one can never have enough nor wear enough rings. I wish I could wear them on my toes and go shoeless every day! Pictured here are a few of my favorites (never mind the mess on my sink in the background!).

Index Finger: The first adjustable (gasp) costume jewelry ring I ever purchased.

Middle Finger: My “Lady Grey” ring. I get more compliments on this than almost any other piece of jewelry I own.

Ring Finger: An heirloom in my family. The center stone is my great grandmother’s engagement diamond, the side stones are my great great grandmother’s earrings. Passed down to the oldest daughter on her 21st birthday. Looking forward to hanging onto this for a granddaughter, since I had two boys!

Pinky Finger: A simple little ring I bought at my first Renaissance Faire. I bought it to wear as a “wait for marriage” promise ring back in high school. Please don’t laugh… I was serious!

Background: You’l see a ring on the sink that is the first in a series of rings I created to reflect the wives of Henry VIII. That one is Katherine of Aragon’s gold tone cross ring with a turquoise stone in the center. To get a better idea of what it looks like and what I was trying to create, here is the entire series:

il_570xN.391133677_mn5e

Queen Katherine of Aragon, 1st wife of Henry VIII
Queen Katherine of Aragon, 1st wife of Henry VIII
Queen Anne Boleyn - 2nd Wife of Henry VIII
Queen Anne Boleyn – 2nd Wife of Henry VIII
Queen Jane Seymour - 3rd Wife of Henry VIII
Queen Jane Seymour – 3rd Wife of Henry VIII
Queen Anne of Cleves - 4th Wife of Henry VIII
Queen Anne of Cleves – 4th Wife of Henry VIII
Queen Katherine Howard - 5th Wife of Henry VIII
Queen Katherine Howard – 5th Wife of Henry VIII
Queen Katherine Parr - 6th Wife of Henry VIII
Queen Katherine Parr – 6th Wife of Henry VIII

What are your favorite pieces of jewelry to wear? I have many, but these rings are some of my most beloved little baubles. Feel free to post a pic of your most lovely rings and things. Here’s to wearing meaningful conversation pieces, intricate jewelry with stories and symbolism to them. Let your fashion be about YOU!!

Love,
Lady Grey

2 thoughts on “Fashion Friday: The Ring is the Thing”

Leave a Reply

